Finished the second last week of an Abroad Traineeship

-UK/USA- Was a nice week. Learned some really nice new stuff. Did also get some of my birthday cards… 🙂

Monday: Started in a new garden. Did start with removing pavement, because that has to go before the new one could come in. First breaking the pavement with a special tool and then get everyting out. We did the part with the hand where the digger couldn’t come. The next day there would be a digger to dig out the rest and start making the shapes of the garden.

Hike CameraHike Camera

Hike Camera

Tuesday: First started at the yard. Watering all the pots and the plants I planted last week. Making a pile of rubbisch turf in a nice ‘taluud’. Later I did go with Jody to measure a new garden. All is done just by hand, not with a laser or some kind of gadget. Looked also at some other gardens and then did go with Jeroen to pick up a fence he bought. It was very heavy to lift but we did get it on the trailer. Afther that I did a bit of cleaning up and weeding in Jeroen’s garden.

IMG-20130625-WA0000

Wednesday: Today was a really nice day. Learned a lot that day. Been laying pavement, pointing/jointing and been busy on a digger. The pavement had to be layed in cement because there had to be joints between them. So first I did get some instructions how to do it and then I started. My colleague did the first cement mix. I started laying some stones, put them on height. Later I made the cement mixes by my self. You have to get 4 buckets of sharp sand and a half bag of cement. Put this together in a cement mixer and put enough water with it that it is not soaking wet but also not dry. Put that on an already layed layer of scelptings(gravel). Then a bit leveling and laying the stones on the right place. Hit them on the right hight and then smooth the edges of the path. I finished until a part that wasn’t really ready so I started pointing/jointing. I made the mix also by myself. Here I had to do 3 buckets of clean sand, a bucket of sharp sand and a bucket of cement together. Also mix it again and put water with it. Also not too wet. Just a bit. Then put it in the joints and smoothen it so it looks nice. In the last hour I started digging a part of a new path with a digger. Because the customer wanted on another place also a path. The next day the digger had to go somewhere else. So where the path is to come had to be finished than.

Hike CameraHike CameraHike CameraHike CameraHike Camera

Thursday: Same garden as yesterday. Started with the digger to finish where the path had to go. Also leveled another part with the digger where they dumped some soil. After that I leveled everything so it would look nice, I finished the pointing/jointing of the pavement part I already had layed the day before. I did also a part of another part of pavement what wasn’t finished pointing/jointing yet.

1372316825453Hike CameraHike CameraHike CameraHike CameraHike Camera

Friday: Did go further with the paving. Put a new part with it. I think I have to go further with it next week. I did also some pointing/jointing agiain. The part I’ve done now looks very nice.

Hike Camera

Hike Camera

Hike Camera

It was a really nice week. Now only 1 week to go and then I finished my Abroad Traineeship. Time did go really fast 🙂

-NL- Wat een mooie week. Veel leuke nieuwe dingen geleerd. Kreeg ook nog wat late verjaardagskaarten…. 🙂

Maandag: Begon in een nieuwe tuin. Begonnen met het verwijderen van bestrating, omdat daar nieuwe kwam. Eerst braken we de bestrating met een speciaal soort gereedschap om vervolgens het er gemakkelijker uit te halen. Wij deden het deel met de hand waar de kraan niet kon komen. De volgende dag zou er een graafmachine komen om de rest eruit te graven en te beginnen met het maken van de vormen van de tuin.

Dinsdag: Op de werf bezig geweest. De potten en de planten die ik vorige week geplant had water gegeven. Een stapel graszoden in een mooie taluud gemaakt. Later ging ik met Jody een nieuwe tuin opmeten. Alles gebeurt met de hand/meetlat, niet met een laser of zo’n soort van gadget. Ook gekeken naar enkele andere tuinen en ging vervolgens met Jeroen weg om een hek te halen wat hij gekocht had. Het was zeer zwaar om te tillen, maar wij kregen het op de aanhangwagen. Nadat ben ik wat aan het schoonmaken geweest en gewied in Jeroens tuin.

Woensdag: Vandaag was een hele leuke dag. Leerde veel die dag. Een pad gelegd, gevoegd en druk bezig op een graafmachine. De bestrating moest gelegd worden in cement, omdat er voegen tussen moesten. Dus als eerste kreeg ik instructies hoe dat te doen en toen ben ik begonnen. Mijn collega heeft de eerste mix van het cement gemaakt. Ik begon met wat stenen te leggen, en ze op de goede hoogte te slaan. Later maakte ik de cement mixen zelf. Je moet 4 emmers met scherp zand en een halve zak van cement bij elkaar mixen. Doe dit in een cement mixer en voeg voldoende water toe dat het niet drijfnat is maar ook niet droog. Zet dat op een reeds gelegd laag van scelptings(gravel). Dan een beetje egaliseren en dan de stenen op de juiste plaats leggen. Sla ze op de juiste hoogte en maak dan de randen van het pad mooi glad. Ik heb later voor dat stuk wat ik had bestraat ook de voegen gedaan. Ik maakte de mix ook zelf. Hier moest ik 3 emmers van schoon zand, een emmer scherp zand en een emmer van cement bij elkaar doen. Ook dit weer mixen en ook weer niet te nat. Toen invoegen en het mooi egaal maken. In het laatste uur ben ik begonnen met het graven van een deel van een nieuw pad met een graafmachine. Omdat de klant op een andere plaats ook een pad wilde. De volgende dag moest ik hier verder mee gaan..

Donderdag: Dezelfde tuin als gisteren. Begonnen met de graafmachine. De plaats waar het pad moet komen afgemaakt. Ook een ander deel met de graafmachine geëgaliseerd waar ze wat grond hadden gedumpt. Na dat ik alles ook wat geharkt had zodat het er mooi uit ziet, heb ik het voegen afgemaakt van de bestrating die ik gister heb gelegd. Ik heb ook een deel van een ander deel van de bestrating gevoegd waar dat nog niet gedaan was..

Vrijdag:  Verder gegaan met de bestrating. Een nieuw stuk pad toegevoegd. Ik denk dat ik daarmee volgende week verder moet gaan. Ik heb dat gedeelte ook weer gevoegd. Het gedeelte wat ik nu heb gedaan ziet er nu heel mooi uit.

Het was weer een super leuke leerzame week. Nu slechts nog maar 1 week te gaan, en dan heb ik mijn stage in het buitenland afgesloten. Tijd gaat echt snel 🙂

Plaats een reactie